Tips to Good Healthy Hair

This is just the shampoos and conditioners I have sitting in my window sill used by my siblings and me.

window sill shampoo

I used to switch between brands of shampoos and conditioners per each use, it was not the best way to treat my hair. After doing some research and taking some advice from my friends, I started washing it more properly.

I’m currently washing my hair every other day and sticking to one bottle of shampoo/conditioner till I finish it. Since I have long, thick, curly and processed hair, it can go longer between washes. This is because the oils from my scalp does not travel down the hair shaft as quickly. The top portion of my hair tends to get oily while the bottom half tends to get dry, which requires less frequent shampooing. My hair have changed significantly since I changed the way I wash my hair and shampoo/conditioner. I only use the conditioner from the middle section of my hair to the end.

Damaged

My hair when I was using random varieties of shampoo and conditioner per each wash.

Neutrogena Shampoo

It was making semi fabulous results when I was using the Neutrogena’s Triple Repair consistently but it was still quite dry. It was getting better slowly.

Fixx Shampoo and Conditioner

When I switched over to Fixx Shampoo and Conditioner it made the hugest difference. It was definitely looking softer and more vibrant. The Moroccan Argan Oil in it does wonders.

Some other tips you should know/use:

1. I used to think a good amount of lather meant it will wash better but it’s not. The more it lather meant the more sulfates (sodium laureth sulfate and ammonium laureth sulfate) it contains. Sulfates are industrial-strength cleaning ingredients that you should avoid seeing in your shampoo. It is especially bad for color treated hair. You can be washing your $200 dye job down the drain.

2. Don’t apply the conditioner to extremely wet hair. Wring your hair out a few times before you apply conditioner. The water dilutes the efficacy of your conditioner and it won’t work as well.

Shower Filter

(Snapshot from original website.)

3. Shampooing with hard hot water can make it dry and straw-like. As it gets colder, we will definitely be doing this more. To combat this, you can use a chelating shampoo once a week or better yet get shower head filter like this: Pure H20 Shower Filter. Yes, it might seem expensive but one filter last 6 months which is equal to 53 cents a day! It’s cheaper than using bottles of Poland Spring water to wash your hair and body. Also cheaper then a cup of coffee. You just need to replace the cartridge every 6 months. Unfiltered water contains chlorine which is not good for our body. After using the chlorine tester on my tap water, I’ve decided to get one. Will be ordering it soon.

4. This a tip I just learned but haven’t tried yet. If you are going to use dry shampoo, try applying it the evening before, not the morning of. Apply the dry shampoo BEFORE you go to bed. The tossing and turning should help work it in and you should wake up with more volume. I’m going to try it after I get the Fixx Dry Shampoo.

5. Last tip of the night is to dry your hair with a T-shirt or Microfiber towel instead of a regular towel. It can help tame the frizzies. A regular towel creates friction, which can cause split ends and tangles. Instead, after washing, use a cotton t-shirt or Microfiber towel (also cotton made) to squeeze out the excess liquid and wrap your head in it.

Other Shampoos

These bottles of shampoos and conditioners that I brought a yr ago will take another year to finish. I will also have to weed out the ones containing sulfate and toss them out. Looking forward to days of better, softer, and healthier hair!

Do you have a favorite hair product? Or hair tip to share?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy G.
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 14:10:45

    Great sharing. I like using fixx shampoo and conditioner too. I dont need to wash my hair as often vs using other brand name of shampoo/conditioner such as penti or herbal essential. I tried the fixx dry shampoo. It gaves me an essential fresh feel of my really oily and smelly hair during my 30days staying in door after giving birth.

    Reply

  2. Fred Lin
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 15:17:20

    The photos of before/after is an excellent testimonial. For the first two paragraphs however. I’d suggest adding more “you” so the reader can relate and not feel like it’s about your healthy hair. You actually make that adjustment in the rest of the article but should be consistent throughout. Great job going over the scientific part as well.. Readers definitely should get the benefits based on the facts you presented. Great article definitely.

    Reply

  3. Anne C
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 18:30:45

    This is a great blog! The testimonial is proof enough that your dedication to combat the problem is worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

