Marc Forgione

Nancy and I came in here for the prix fixe dinner some time ago. It was near City Hall. The restaurant is mainly known by the Chef’s nickname, Forge. The restaurant’s actual name is Marc Forgione.

It’s a nice homey and comfortable restaurant. The wall on the right side of the restaurant is a huge bookshelf full of books, wine, photo frames and many random objects.

Nancy in her pretty clothing sitting across the table from me. Look how skinny she is! Not fair right? I wish I am that skinny.

Butter Bread – First time being served bread that were buns. They were slightly too oily and not soft enough. Rate: 2/5

My First Course – Sweet Potato Ravioli, Black Truffle Pasta, Dayboat Maine Lobster Emulsion

I love this course. Every ingredient was nicely arranged. The ravioli was sweet and tangy. The lobster was sweet and juicy. With a touch truffle to complete the dish, it was amazing! The best first course I ever had (so far). Rate: 6/5

Nancy’s First Course – “Mac & Cheese”, Guinness Speatzle, Braised Oxtail, Gruyere Bechamel

This was Nancy’s first course. I took a bite of it and it was nothing like the usual Mac & Cheese. It has a nice but not to mushy texture. The cheese in it was not overpowering. Rate: 4/5

My 2nd Course – Citrus Scented Stonington, CT Sea Scallops, Pickled Jalapeno, Blood Orange Reduction, Celery Root

Doesn’t the dish look like a happy clown face?! I love seafood, so I couldn’t resist getting the sea scallops. The scallops were perfectly cooked and tender. The sauce was alright, not a lot of flavor though. Nothing to go wow about. Rate: 5/5

Nancy’s 2nd Course – Long Island Duck Breast, Native Wild Rice, Shiitake Mushrooms, Squash Emulsion

I also tried a slice of the duck breast and it was full of delicious flavor and cooked perfectly into medium. Nancy didn’t get to finish it. Rate: 4/5

Time for DESSERT! My favorite course of an entire meal.

My 3rd course – Dessert – Caramelized Banana Souffle, Milk Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sauce

The banana souffle itself tasted very good. It was soft and savory. I LOVE bananas, but the milk chocolate-peanut butter sauce was too sweet for me. I had to wait 20 minutes for this dessert. I was slightly disappointed. Rate: 3/5

Nancy’s 3rd course – Dessert – Affogato Hazelnut Ice Cream Sundae, Brittle, Crunchies, Whipped Cream, Nutella Sauce

I took some bites of this ice cream sundae while waiting for my dessert. It was delicious but not a huge fan of hazelnut. It reminds me of coffee and I’m not a fan of it. Minus the hazelnut would have been perfect for me but it was still better then my dessert. Rate: 5/5

Overall it was a great dinner with a good friend. We received complimentary appetizers at the beginning. It was cute. The bad part of the dinner was the wait. We had to wait a good 30 minutes between each course and I felt ignored. Service: 3/5

Marc Forgione Restaurant
134 Reade St
(between Greenwich St & Hudson St)
New York, NY 10013
Tel: (212) 941-9401

Leave a Reply

