Yummy Ramen – Ippudo NYC

Ippudo NY

After reading about Ippudo NYC in Seouldiva’s blog, I knew I had to try this place out. It wasn’t a disappointment. I got there around 7pm and the wait was fairly short. Only 5 minutes.

Dishes

Globe Like Thing

Took these pics while I was waiting in the waiting area. I like how the bowls were placed on the wall. From right to left, dark to light bowls. I don’t know what is that character on the sphere. I wonder if it’s the japanese character for noodle…

Bamboo TreeRestaurant Sitting Area

The lighting was dim but I liked it. Gives off a very cozy, nice and vibrant feel. It had an open kitchen which makes it more friendly. Plus whenever the host bring in people to be seated, everyone who works there greets them in Japanese. It’s a very nice and cheerful atmosphere.

MenuInside Menu

The menu was very simple and I liked that. They had a nice variation of food.

Kurobuta Pork Tatsuta-age

I was very hungry and started eating it before I took this picture. There was more pieces then that. lol. This the Kurobuta Pork Tatsuta-age $12. I really meant to order the Hirata Pork Buns ($8 for 2pcs) instead but oh well since I already order it might has well enjoy it and order the Hirata Pork Buns next time. They were quite crispy and not full of batter. The meat were slightly tender. The orange substance was mix into the soy sauce giving it a slightly spicy flavor and it was alright. Overall, I give this dish a 6 out of 10.

Shoyo Ramen

This was the Shoyo Ramen $13 with a poached egg for an additional $2. I love poached egg. Yummy. This is a soy flavored noodle soup, a combination of chicken and tonkotsu soup with slices of berkshire pork, cabbage, naruto, egg and scallions. It was delicious and divine. I love the Ippudo flag made from the sheet of egg. It was cute. One of the best bowl of ramen I have ever ate though the soup was slightly too salty at the end of the meal. The ramen was very plump, juicy, and perfectly cooked. Definitely need to go back to try the other noodle soup. This dish is worth a 9 out of 10. One point deducted for the saltiness.

StairsWall of Bathroom

The meal was good and the bathroom experience wasn’t bad. There were two woman’s bathroom and one man’s. Very clever to make two woman’s. The bathroom was near the front reception. You have to go down a set of stairs to get to it. The walls to the bathroom lit up in colors though my picture didn’t give the justice of it and that was my satisfying full tummy experience at Ippudo NYC.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Athena Chang
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 16:50:16

    Lucky you didn’t need to wait for too long. Next time, try Minca on East 5th St between A & B! It is more intimate and less commercialized.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

