My Experience With Bikram Yoga

I went to Bikram Yoga 3x this week, Monday, Wednesday, Saturday. It was a challenging experience. I joined the Introductory Special for $23 for 7 consecutive days. They have 4 locations in NYC, one in UES, UWS, Flatiron and Midtown. I went to the UES location. It was only one stop from my work place. It was very convenient for me. For my 3rd visit, I went to the Midtown location.

Bikham Yoga Door

The Bikram Yoga class I take is a 90 minute workout that improves physical strength, flexibility, and balance while enhancing our mental mind, clarity and focus. The practice consist of 26 poses/postures, including two breathing exercises at the end. The yoga class takes place in a heated room. The heat will accelerate the rate of changes within our body and improves blood circulation. It also helps eliminate toxins and significantly reduces the risk of injury during stretching.

60 minutes of it was standing postures and it is the hardest part of the class. 30 minutes of floor postures. In the first 20 minutes there is no water. During this 60 min I try my hardest to stay in the postures but it’s very difficult. I don’t have enough balance in me but I believe if I continue to take Bikram Yoga I will find more balance in myself and in the postures. It also will take some time getting use to the heat in the studio. I’m still not adjusted to it after 3 sessions. For my 1st and 2nd visit I felt dizzy after 45 minutes into the session. For the 3rd visit, I didn’t feel any dizziness. I don’t know if it was because the studio was not hot enough or because I am starting to adjust to the heat. I won’t know for sure till I sign up for more classes.

The UES location contains 2 studios. This is one of them.

Bikham Yoga First Room

This is the other one. Both of them are around the same size.

Bikham Yoga 2nd Room

It was really a great “hot” and enhanced experience. It’s a great way to exercise, sweat, stretch and de-stress. You should all give it a try. Bikram Yoga may become a healthy habit in your life forming and result in a happier, healthier life.

UES
Location: 173 East 83rd St @ Third Ave
Tele: 212-288-9642

Midtown

Location: 797 8th Ave on 48th and 49th St
Tele: 212-245-2525

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. wendy
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 15:35:36

    you should post up Yoga of the People the one on Astor Pl. too lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

